The Unexpected Lesson I Learned When I Spent a Day With Ryan Reynolds

Unveiling the Universal Truth about Job Satisfaction and the Desire for Home

JP Brown
5 min readJul 25, 2023
Not the actual Green Lantern movie set since I wasn’t allowed to bring in a camera. (Photo by Brands&People on Unsplash)

This is a story you’ll just have to believe is true.

I don’t have any pictures, audio recordings, or any other physical evidence that it happened. You’ll see, eventually, that it is not really that fantastic of a story other than where I was. So, lying would be silly.

It was an average sultry, steamy weekend in the heart of New Orleans. I grew up just outside of the city, and so I was there fairly often.

I was visiting my girlfriend at the time, a lovely and vivacious woman who was deeply rooted in the vibrant fabric of the city. She was much more active socially than I ever was, so she always had plans for us when I would go over.

Her lineage was impressive — her family had once been at the helm of one of New Orleans’ Carnival Krewes. If you know anything about New Orleans’s social hierarchy, being the head of a Krewe is about as socially connected as you could possibly be.

Instead of the pulsating energy and the constant action I had envisioned, I found a startling degree of… normality.

--

--

JP Brown

Entrepreneur/business owner (ElopementBiz.com). Lover of the simple things, always questioning why. Committed to truth, not consistency. Twitter.com/mindofjp